answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No.

MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:

" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "

So the answer to your question is no since a foul tip that is caught is only considered a strike.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-17 17:50:22
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the batter out if a foul tip is caught by the catcher and the count is either no strikes or one strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a pinch hitter comes to bat for an injured batter with two strikes and then strikes out who is charged with the strikeout?

either the pinch hitter or both


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.


How many foul balls can a batter have?

You can technically have infinite foul balls (assuming they go out of the playing field and are not caught). The exception is if there are already 2 strikes and you foul the ball off but it goes right into the catchers mitt. Then you're out. Also, if they're are 2 strikes and you attempt a bunt and hit it foul then you are out. ---------- Above answer is almost correct... A batter can hit an unlimited number of fouls, but a foul that is caught in the air is not counted as a foul. It's simply an out. Also, a ball that is hit straight back to the catcher who then catches it is not a foul...it is a "foul tip," and the ball is still alive, so that's not a foul either. And it doesn't matter if there are 2 strikes, or 1 strike or 0 strikes, or what the count is at all.


What does strikeout mean in baseball?

It means when the pitcher gets the batter out himself by throwing 3 strikes, either by the batter swinging and missing, or by the ball being in the strike zone and the batter not swigning


What does a full count mean when said by the empire in softball?

When an umpire calls a full count, that means the batter has 3 balls and 2 strikes. A full count (3-2) is the highest number of balls and strikes a batter can get before he is either awarded a base (on balls) or is out (on strikes).


What is a pitch in baseball?

A "pitch" is the throw of a baseball from the pitcher to the catcher, usually with the intent of avoiding having the ball hit by the batter (who is of the opposing team). The batter stands to either side of home plate, bearing a bat (an elongated stick of wood or aluminum). The batter will try to hit the ball into the field of play when it is thrown toward him by the pitcher. If he does not try to hit it, or misses, the ball will be caught by the catcher. Depending on whether the ball passes through a specified area ("the strike zone"), the batter will be ruled with either a "strike" (he could have hit it) or a "ball" (it was outside the zone and unlikely to be hit). (see related link)


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


How many pitches can a batter take without swinging before he walks or is called on strikes?

Five, a total of three balls and two strikes. The next pitch will either walk her, or put her out.


How many parts are there to an inning of baseball?

An inning in baseball consists of 3 outs. Outs are received when either 3 strikes are thrown to a batter, striking them out, if a player hits the ball and is thrown out at first or if there are baserunners who are tagged out or forced out, and if a fly ball is caught.


If a runner on third is stealing home on a passed ball and the ball bounces off the backstop and hits the batter is the batter out?

The batter or the runner? Either would have to be tagged to result in an out. The catcher (or any player) would have to have the ball and touch the runner from third. If you mean the batter is still in the batter's box and the ball rebounds and hits him then I would surmise that it is a judgment call by the umpire as to whether or not the batter was in the way of the catcher being able to make a play.


When an a catcher get credit for a putout without touching the ball?

If there is a runner on first base and less than 2 outs, and on the third strike to the batter the catcher misses the ball entirely, the batter is still out and the catcher is credited with the putout. If a runner is one first base with less then 2 outs, a missed 3rd strike is not officially recorded as a putout by the catcher as there is nowhere for the runner to go as the batter cannot advance in this situation. The only time a catcher or any other position player can get a put out without touching the ball is in the case of runner-interference - - i.e. The batter pops up a ball a runner (either the batter or a guy from 3rd) runs into the catcher, not allowing him a chance to make a play on the ball -- the runner would be called out and the catcher would be credited with the out) -- another scenerio would be a bunt or swinging bunt where the batter makes contact with the ball in fair territory (not in batters box) -- this would be a batted ball touched by a base runner in fair territory -- the batter would be out, with the recorded out going to the closest position player (in this scenerio, that would be the catcher)


How can you have more than three strikeouts in an inning?

In baseball, in order for a batter to be called out after the third strike, the catcher must catch the ball without it hitting the ground. If he does not, and there is no runner on first base, or there are two outs, the batter becomes a batter-runner. At this point, in order to make the out, the catcher must either tag the runner, or throw the ball to first for a force-out. Regardless of the outcome of the play, the pitcher is still awarded a strike-out. As an illustration, a pitcher can face two batters, and strike them both out. A third batter comes to the plate, receives three strikes against him, but due to an uncaught third strike, reach first. A fourth batter can then come to the plate, strike-out, and thus award the pitcher with his fourth strike-out in the inning.


What are the violations of softball?

Some of the violations in softball is when pitch the ball your back foot has to stay on the ground. If a batter gets hit by a ball its called a dead ball and they get a free base. If a batter hits the catcher with the bat then the player gets a free base because they call that interference. Some umpires dont alow the catcher to talk to the batter either. If u have any more questions just ask.


In baseball what does BB stand for?

BB stands for "Base on Balls". It refers to when a batter receives four pitches determined by the umpire as balls before the baseball is either put into play or receives three strikes. In such a case the batter earns a free base and can walk to first base. The batter has received a base on balls.


What does bb stand for in baseball?

BB stands for "Base on Balls". It refers to when a batter receives four pitches determined by the umpire as balls before the Baseball is either put into play or receives three strikes. In such a case the batter earns a free base and can walk to first base. The batter has received a base on balls.


What are ways a batter can be called out in softball?

They can strike out, hit the ball and it be caught, or hit the ball and either be tagged (with the ball) or a player gets to the base before them (with the ball).


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


In baseball do the pitcher and catcher form?

I think you are asking what they form. If that is what you want to know, they are called "The Battery," because they work together to try and get the batter out. The catcher makes hand signals for the pitcher to see telling him what type of pitch to throw. The pitcher will either nod or shake his head to let the catcher know if that is the pitch he wants to deliver or not.


What is it called when a batter can hit from either side of the plate?

The batter is called a switch hitter.


On a dropped 3rd strike with the bases loaded can the catcher simply step on home plate or does he have to either tag the runner or throw to first base?

The batter is automatically out if there are fewer than two outs. If there are two outs, the catcher has to complete the play, but he can simply step on home for the force out.


Where does the batter stand when up to bat?

The batter stands in the batter's box. These are located on either side of home plate. The batter can stand in either one of them, depending on whether he is left handed or right.


What is the maximum number of pitches a batter can face in a single complete at-bat excluding foul balls?

A batter can have a full count of 2 and 3 and then get walked with ball nuber 4, so 6 pitches. However, consider the circumstance of a pitcher facing a batter with two outs and a runner on base. If the pitcher picks off a runner with the count full, the inning ends, and the same batter is up in the next inning with an empty count. Statistically, it is the same at bat, so the maximum number of pitches is in fact 11. 2 strikes and 3 balls in one inning, and either 3 strikes and 3 balls or 2 strikes and 4 balls to lead off the next inning.


If the bases are loaded with 1 out and batter swings at 3rd strike but the ball gets past the catcher and does not tag him the runners advance a base is the batter charged with a strikeout and an RBI?

a batter is OUT when a third strike is not caught by the catcher when 1st. base is OCCUPIED BEFORE (2) are out. RULE 6.05 (c)So in the case mentioned above the batter is out and the runners may advance at their own peril. The batter does not get an RBI.Rule 6.09 (b) states that the batter becomes a RUNNER when the third strike called by the umpire is not caught providing (1) first base is UNOCCUPIED,or (2) first base is OCCUPIED WITH TWO OUTS. In the case above the catcher after retrieving the ball could try to throw to first to get the batter runner out or he could tag home before the runner from third touches the plate for a force out. If the both runners are safe I'm not sure if the batter runner would get an RBI. I would guess he doesnt---sort of like no rbi if the batter hits into a double play and a run scores during that play.AnswerRule 10.04(a) Credit the batter with a run batted in for every run which reaches home base because of the batters safe hit,sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out of fielders choice: or which is forced over the plate by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full (on a base on balls, or an award of first base for being touched by a pitched ball, or for INTERFERENCE or obstrction. The batter is automatically out and the runners may advance at their own risk. The uncaught third strike rule only applies when there are two outs or when there are less than two outs and there is no runner on first base. In either case, the batter would never be given an RBI for a run scored via the uncaught third strike rule. The batter would be charged with a strikeout in all cases.


Is it scored a strike out for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

No. The batter is indeed "out," but the play is not a "strike out" for either the batter or the pitcher.


HOW can a batter get on base without a hit?

He can either get thrown 4 balls or if he swings and misses the 3rd strike and the catcher drops it, he can run to the base. Other ways: Error by a fielder allows the batter to reach first. Fielder's choice, less than two outs. Fielder obstruction after batted ball. None of the above are counted as hits, but the batter still ends up on base. Batter hit by pitched ball. Catcher interferes with batter's swing (I've not only never seen this, I've not aware that it has ever been called in the last 75 years or so).