Can pawn pass another pawn

Updated: 12/23/2022
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Best Answer

A pawn may pass another pawn if there is some tactical or strategical advantage to do so - this is an option exercised at the discretion of the player(s). It only becomes a passed pawn if it has no more enemy pawns to pass by.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can pawn pass another pawn
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can a pawn pass another pawn without engaging?

Yes, it's called a passed pawn when one player moves ahead instead of taking a pawn or a piece.

Another name for a pawn shop?

(names of stores)ez pawn, super pawn, cash america, ect.

What is another name for store?

Pawn shop

Can you promote your pawn into a queen even if you still have another pawn?

Yes, the other pieces you control don't matter.

What is another name for jewerly store?

Pawn shop

Another word for sell or pawn?

Deal, Trade

If you default on a title pawn can you get another?

Yes. Typically, you will have to pay off the full amount of youroriginal pawn (plus repo and storage fees if your vehicle has been repossed It depends on the company you are using as to whether they will allow you to pawn it with them again or not. You may have to find another company to pawn your title with the next time.

Can a pawn move diagonal on to the last row if there is nothing there?

No, a pawn can only move diagonally when taking another piece on the board.

How can a king capture another piece in chess?

A pawn captures another piece by moving diagonally one square forward to the square where the enemy piece is located. The pawn cannot capture a piece that is directly in front of it. Another way a pawn captures is under a special rule which applies only to another pawn. If White has a pawn on the 5th rank and Black moves a pawn one file over two spaces from the 7th rank to the 5th rank, the White pawn may capture the Black pawn even though the black pawn is now right beside it by moving one square diagonally forward right behind the Black pawn. This is called capturing "en passant"

Is it possible to attack a chess piece with a pawn diagonally?

Diagonal attacking is the only way a pawn can capture another chess piece , besides a En Passant capture , since this is the only way a pawn can attack or threaten another chessmen . See related link below to additional information on how a pawn moves , attacks and captures .

Chess if a pawn gets to the end of the chess board get you get a new queen if you already have one?

Once a pawn reaches the last rank the pawn can be promoted to any piece except the king . Yes , if you already have a queen the pawn can be promoted to another queen .

When passing pawn can you passing pawn attack to another attack?

The move "en passant" (meaning "in passing") can be made when one player's pawn moves two squares forwards onto a square directly adjacent an enemy pawn. The enemy pawn can now capture as if the first pawn had only moved one square, and then it is the first player's turn again.