Best Answer

Yes. From the Rules, available at "A "stroke'' is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke" So if you intended to hit the ball, it's a stroke.

Personally, I don't like that rule. I don't think it should count if the ball doesn't move. But I don't make 'em up, I just tell 'em.

Answer by FutureLPGAgolfer

Yes, it counts as a stroke if you swing and the ball doesn't move.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

If you intend to hit the Golf ball then yes, but if a obscure movement is made to avoid the golf ball for an apparent reason then it would not count as a stroke.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you swing and ball does not move is it a stroke?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

During a practice swing the ball is dislodged from tee is it counted as a stroke?

This came from Brent Kelly of I hope this answers your question. "If the ball is on the teeing ground and you have not yet made a stroke at the ball, then the ball is not yet in play. And accidentally hitting the ball with a practice swing in that situation does not result in a stroke or a penalty. However, once you've made a stroke at the ball on the teeing ground, the ball is considered in play until you hole out. Then the question of whether a practice swing that makes contact is a stroke or penalty (or both) is covered under Rule 18, "Ball at Rest Moved." And here's the ruling: If you accidentally move a ball in play with a practice swing, it's a one-stroke penalty. You must replace the ball to its original position and play it correctly. Failing to replay the ball from its original position results in a total penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play."

What is the rule if you strike the ball with no intent on practice swing?

it counts as a stroke

What does it mean by swinging your golf club to hit the golf ball?

Have you seen a golf swing? The idea is to hit the ball with the swing, that is the only way to play the game.

What counts as a stroke for scoring purposes in golf?

Basically a stroke is where a genuine movement is made towards the golf ball. Once you address the ball and make a swing, this counts as a stroke, even if you miss it.

Reverse swing was introducedin the sub continent?

reverse swing was introduced to move the ball in on dusty and inresponsive wickets

What happens if you hit a ball on the green with your putter by accident and the ball does not move?

There is no penalty if the ball doesn't move, but that seems highly unlikely. If the ball does move you should replace the ball and receive a one stroke penalty.

When a player has addressed the ball outside a hazard and has grounded his club but then has a practice swing first is this deemed as a penalty stroke?

Not if the ball is sitting outside the hazard line.

What does swing away in baseball mean?

"swing away" is a baseball term used to tell batters to take a full swing at the ball. Batters about to swing away will not try to bunt or necessarily place the ball in any specific area to move a base runner around, but will try to drive the ball to their best advantage.

What is a stroke on a golf course?

It's a stroke that doesn't produce the desired result. All swings are different, so to me the success of a stroke is determined by the outcome. Did the ball end up reasonably close to where you wanted it to go? Then its a good stroke - regardless of how it looked.

What is a bat use for during baseball?

You use a baseball bat when you have to hit a ball. You have to also swing it to make the ball move when you are practice.

Is there a penalty if you move long grass on your practice swing?

If the ball does not move and you are not in a hazard you do not get penalized however, you are not permitted "cut" the grass on the course.

What happens if you touch golf ball by accident?

Too bad once off tee a. General Except as permitted by the Rules, when a player's ball is in play, if: (i) the player, his partner or either of their caddies: lifts or moves the ball, touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball), or causes it to move, or (ii) the equipment of the player or his partner causes the ball to move, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke. If the ball is moved, it must be replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made.