[original answer - incorrect]
["The dropped third strike rule, like the infield fly rule, does not apply to situations with two outs but only to situations with zero or one outs."]
CORRECT ANSWER:
The D3K rule DOES apply under either of 2 conditions:
1) There are less than 2 outs and 1st base is unoccupied, -OR-
2) ANY TIME there are 2 outs (regardless of 1st base occupation.
This means that, in a 2-out scenario, even if there is already a runner on 1st base, a D3K turns the batter into a batter-runner and allows him/her to run to 1st. If 1st base is occupied, that runner is put into a force situation and must try to advance to 2nd, creating a force out at 1st OR 2nd. If there are already runners on 1st and 2nd, they are both put into a force situation and if the bases are loaded at the time of the D3K, ALL baserunners are put into a force situation and an out can be had by simply stepping on ANY base before the runner reaches it.
Confusing at first, but the more you think it through, the clearer it becomes. :)
The Third Amendment. There is really only one rule: They can't be quartered in private homes. And one exception to the rule: Congress can change this rule during a war.
The governmet had the authority to end labor strikes
Majority rule
A person who wanted the colonies to remain part of the british empire
Dictatorship or minority rule
Yes, there is no uncaught third strike rule when there are two outs. Additionally, there is no infield fly rule when there are two outs. Both the uncaught third strike rule and infield fly rule are only in effect when there are zero or one outs.
The drop third strike rule in baseball allows a batter to attempt to run to first base after the catcher fails to catch the third strike. This rule adds an element of strategy and excitement to the game, as it gives the batter a chance to reach base even after striking out.
With less than two outs, if first base is unoccupied on a swinging dropped third strike, the batter must be tagged out or forced out at first base. The putout goes either to the player applying the tag (usually the catcher) or the player covering first base in the case of a force out.
Plain and simple: it just isn't in baseball rules. It has existed at least since 1845. There is no more logic or reasoning to that rule than there is for the rule requiring nine innings instead of thirteen. It's just the rule. Catcher can drop the ball on a third strike, if firstbase is occupied.!!
The dropped third strike rule in baseball allows the batter to try to run to first base after the catcher fails to catch the third strike. This rule adds excitement and strategy to the game, as it gives the batter a chance to reach base even after striking out.
First base must be unoccupied when the third strike occurs. If there are 2 outs then first can be occupied and the batter/runner must be put out by tag or force at 1st.
As they are no longer in existence the union decided to drop them from a list of members. Hence they will not strike or even go on work to rule.
No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.
The drop third strike rule is in effect. Whenever there is a strikeout and the ball is not caught cleanly or bounces in, this rule is in effect EXCEPT when 1st base is occupied. With 2 out, the rule is always in effect.
Rule 6.05(b) of the MLB Official Rules states that a batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher or when a third strike is not legally caught by the catcher and first base is occupied with less than two out. Except for the infield fly rule and the uncaught third strike rule, which keeps the defensive team from making an 'error' to make a double play or triple play, the only way a batter can be called out is if a defensive fielder has possession of the baseball. With the uncaught third strike, no one has possession of the ball.
Some states have a three strike rule where a repeat offender will receive a harsh sentence on the third offense. A second strike refers to a second offense.
Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.