Best Answer

In New Jersey, a person is guilty of drunk driving if he/ she operates a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. BAC refers to the amount of alcohol in your blood. Although the law refers to a 0.08 percent BAC, you can be convicted of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor even when your BAC is below 0.08 percent. Consuming even small amounts of alcohol dulls the senses, decreases reaction time, and hampers judgement, vision and alertness. If you consume any amount of alcohol and your driving is negatively impacted, you can be convicted of drunk driving. If you are under the age of 21 you will be convicted if you have any detectactable alcohol (over 0.01 BAC)

User Avatar

Wiki User

6y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is considered impaired bac in New Jersey?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When are you considered impaired if your BAC is or higher.?

It varies depending on state law in the US.

What is the driving limit for alcohol in the US?

One is considered to be impaired if ones BAC is 0.08% or greater. The term BAC refers to ones blood alcohol content, and it determined by the use of a breathalyzer.

When are you impaired when operating a vehicle?

When your BAC exceeds .08.

Is there such thing of a 2.5 BAC?

No, a BAC of .30 is where it is it considered fatal

At which BAC does it make it illegal to drive?

While most states have a presumptive BAC limit of .08, you can be arrested and convicted of DUI/DWI/DUII or driving while impaired regardless of your BAC level. In general all that is required is that the officer believe that your driving is impaired.

What are signs of being impaired by alcohol?

The level of BAC that causes impairment depends heavily on whether or not the drinker has developed alcohol tolerance and, if so, how much tolerance. About 25% of alcoholics show absolutely no evidence of impairment at .01 BAC because of their tolerance.

Can too much alcohol kill you?

Yes, too much alcohol can kill you.You can get an overdose and die. It is called alcohol poisoning.The levels of blood alcohol (BAC) and effects are:Euphoria (BAC = 0.03 to 0.12%) A general feeling of happiness but with impaired thinkingLethargy (BAC = 0.09 to 0.25%) Impaired sight hearing and balance. May become sleepyConfusion (BAC = 0.18 to 0.30%) Dizziness and vomitingStupor (BAC = 0.25 to 0.40%) Potential unconsciousness with potential for uncontrolled urination and death by drowning in your own vomitComa (BAC = 0.35 to 0.50%) Unconsciousness followed by death from decreased heart rate and breathing

What BAC is considered DWI in Texas?


Can you drive a car after having one cup of wine?

Sure you CAN drive, however a person weighing 150 lbs will have a BAC near .03 right after drinking one glass of wine. That is a level where your judgment and coordination will be impaired even if you are not legally drunk. You can be cited for impaired driving, still having a BAC under .08.

Can cold pills with benadrill cause breathalyzer to read higher?

Benadryl doesn't have alcohol in it, it won't affect your BAC when you are tested with a breathalyzer. If the officer thinks you are impaired you can get a DUI regardless of whether or not you blow .08 BAC.

In Ontario what blood level must be reached for a driver to be legally impaired?

The legal alcohol limit in Ontario is a BAC of 0.08 however you can be arrested at 0.05. All drivers under the age of 25 must have a BAC of 0.00.

Does 04 alcohol count for cdl when driving personal vehicle?

Better off not to even risk it. While the .04 BAC is only supposed to apply in a CMV, the thing of it is - your BAC doesn't have to be up there in order for you to be determined to be driving impaired.