answersLogoWhite

0

IV or IIII = 4

Roman numerals never have 4 of any letter side by side you would not right IIII as 4 it would be IV. The rule is up to three letters are added up when you come to the next number i.e. 4 you move to the next number up 5 V and deduct 1 I.

so the math is I (1) taken from V (5) = 4

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

BeauBeau
You're doing better than you think!
Chat with Beau
CoachCoach
Success isn't just about winning—it's about vision, patience, and playing the long game.
Chat with Coach
DevinDevin
I've poured enough drinks to know that people don't always want advice—they just want to talk.
Chat with Devin

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Roman numeral IV
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp