Best Answer

There are two, possibly three, species of raccoon.1.) Common (or northern) raccoon found in North and Central America.

2.) Crab eating raccoon that lives in Central and South America.

3.) Cozumel (or pygmy) raccoon is a native of Cozumel Island, Mexico. Some scientists consider it as a subspecies of the common raccoon.

There are also a number of subspecies.

User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What types of raccoons are there?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many types of raccoons are there?


What types of things eat crayfish?

Humans, bass, otters, mink and raccoons.

How do wetlands benefit certain types of raccoons?

The wetlands have plenty of vegetation to support herbevores. Thus herbivores get attracted to these places. This benefits the raccoons like Crocodile and pythons to get their prey very comfortably.

Are raccoons birds?

Raccoons are not birds. Raccoons are mammals.

What is the plural term for raccoons?

The plural of raccoon is raccoons.

Are raccoons invertebrates or vertebrates?

Raccoons are vertebrates. They have a spinal column.

What is the kingdom of raccoons?

Raccoons are animals. The kingdom is Animalia.

How do raccoons take care of their teeth?

they chew on a certain type wood that gets most bacteria off and keeps their teeth healthy

What makes raccoons endangered?

Raccoons are common and not considered endangered.

Why are raccoons detrivores?

Raccoons are omnivores, not detrivores.

When was The Raccoons created?

The Raccoons was created in 1985.

Do raccoons have a bladder?

Yes, raccoons have a bladder.